2024 Student Awards

Every year, our students prove that Central Connecticut State University is a vibrant community of individuals who are dedicated to their intellectual and personal growth. Our award recipients exemplify many of the university’s core values, including excellence, community engagement, and social responsibility—they are role models now and will no doubt contribute valuable insight for years to come. To our student honorees, please accept my heartfelt congratulations on your successes. To the faculty and staff who support our students every day, thank you for your ongoing dedication to our mission.

Zulma R. Toro, President

President Toro in front of Davidson Hall


Every spring the Connecticut States Colleges and Universities Foundation selects 12 outstanding seniors from the four state universities as Barnard Scholars. To be considered, a student must have a minimum 3.7 GPA and a record of significant community service. The students are nominated by their respective universities and presidents and the candidates must submit a personal essay and other materials to be considered for the award.

Haneen Alkabasi 
Political Science and Journalism

Isabella Galdamez 
Exercise Science

Shealin Callahan 
International Studies and Philosophy

Emily Palmieri 
Early Childhood Studies & Infant/ Toddler Mental Health


Every year at Central Connecticut State University, each academic department is asked to nominate one of their students as the Departmental Honors Award Recipient for their department. The student must not only achieve an exceptional grade point average but also demonstrate excellence in research, work productivity, or community service.

AccountingHumza Miyan
Art & DesignAshley Yokubinas
BiologyAutumn Skowrenski
Biomolecular SciencesLacie Low
Chemistry & BiochemistryJJ Degumbia
CommunicationDavid Sullivan
Computer Electronics & Graphics TechnologySamuel Brewer
Computer ScienceMichael Cox
Criminology & Criminal JusticeCiara Gregory
Earth & Space SciencesSeth Brown
EconomicsGerald Ferraro
EngineeringMatthew Montano
EnglishFrank Rodriguez
FinanceMelsida Mardiyan
Geography, Anthropology, & TourismHazel Hudson
HistoryLaurence Florio-Roberts
JournalismAndrew DeCapua
Literacy, Elementary & Early Childhood EducationJetta Powers
Management Information SystemsRyan Holland
Management & OrganizationTasim Muca
Manufacturing & Construction ManagementMikayla Durant
MarketingLeila Dennis
Mathematical SciencesAlexandra Rogers
MusicDrew Benard
NursingMolly Marteka
PhilosophyShealin Callahan
Physical Education & Human PerformanceIsabella Galdamez
Physics & Engineering PhysicsThomas Glidden
Political ScienceMajdoleen Hamed
Psychological ScienceErin Kulcsar
Social WorkNatalie Michaud
SociologyArianna Antonakos
Technology & Engineering EducationLuke Vermilyea
TheatreAllison Nadeau
World Languages, Literatures, & CulturesStephanie Padilla


Each spring, Central Connecticut State University recognizes graduates that have completed their academic career as Honors Program students at the university. The Honors Program is open by competitive admission to academically superior first-year students, usually defined as those who meet any one of the following qualifications: Top 20 percent of high school class, 1,100+ combined SAT scores, or verbal SAT score of 600 or greater.

Adriana Brathwaite 
Shealin Callahan 
David Coello 
Ryan Cunningham 
Rola Dagamseh 
Vincenzo D’Aria 
Abigail Denison 
Leila Dennis 
Segan Foster 
Thomas Glidden 
Chloe Grabowski 
Justin Hall 
Kaylee Hall 
Ryan Holland 
Kelly Iskra 
Camryn Jeffko 
Shawndia Jones 
Zhane Kelly 
Tatiana Kosloffsky 
Karolina Kurzatkowska 
Jacob Minor 
Carlie O’Sullivan 
Tayler Rainville 
Alexandra Rogers 
Charlotte Simmons 
Autumn Skowrenski 
Anastasiya Solovyeva 
Luke Vermilyea


President’s Citation awards are presented to seniors nominated by faculty and staff. The award recognizes accomplishments and contributions that benefit the University. Consideration is given for students who have demonstrated their commitment not only to their academics but also to leadership, student success, and community engagement activities.

Frederick Little 
Strategic Communications

Miriam Lopez-Cruz 

Delia McGuire 
Construction Management

Keziah Ninson 
Biomolecular Science

Bria Stanley 

Olivia Tuohy 
Criminology and Psychology

Luke Vermilyea 
Technology Education