Student Success

Students in the Department of Philosophy have enjoyed success at CCSU and in a variety of career paths.

Philosophy major Devin Avshalom-Smith won the New Haven Ward 20 Primary after having been named a 2020-21 Yale Law School Fellow.

Johanna Zukowski, a double major in Philosophy and Political Science, was named a recipient of the 2021 Henry Barnard Distinguished Student Award.

Meet Chef Jay, a Philosophy major (Class of 2019) and executive chef.

In addition, students majoring and minoring in Philosophy at CCSU have gained admission to numerous graduate programs. The following is a sample of graduate programs to which our students have been admitted directly from CCSU.


Clarkson University (MBA)

University of Connecticut (MBA)

Health and Medicine

Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (DO)

New York Medical College (MPH)

University of Connecticut (MD)

International Studies

Central Connecticut State University (MA)

Columbia University, Teachers College (MA)


George Mason University (JD)

George Washington University (JD)

Georgetown University (JD)

Indiana University-Bloomington (JD)

Quinnipiac University (JD)

Roger Williams University (JD)

University of Connecticut (JD)

University of East London (LLM)

University of Houston (JD)

University of Michigan (JD)

University of Minnesota (JD)

Western New England University (JD)


Colorado State University (MA)

Concordia University, Canada (MA)

Leibniz University of Hannover, Germany (MA)

Oklahoma State University (MA)

University of Mississippi (MA)

University of Missouri-St. Louis (MA)

University of Montana (MA)

University of Toledo (MA)

University of Utah (MA)

Virginia Tech University (MA)

Western Michigan University (MA)


New York University (MA)

Willard-DiLoreto Hall, Willard 304

Contact Information

Audra King
Associate Professor, Department Chair
Social Justice Minor
International Studies: Global Studies | BA
Willard-DiLoreto Hall
Philosophy 50th Anniversary Logo