Educators Rising at CCSU

Educators Rising at CCSU


Contact Information

Sandy Fraioli

CT State Coordinator

Kimberly Kostelis

CCSU Coordinator

Program Partner

Consolidated School District of New Britain

Click Here to Join The Conference

First Annual Connecticut State Conference

March 31st, 2021

Registration is open. Click the link below to reserve your spot today!
Student Registration  Adult/Guest Registration

Conference Schedule

Detailed Conference Schedule 

8:00-8:30 a.m.

Welcome Address

President Zulma Toro

Dr. Zulma Toro

CCSU President

Miguel Cardona '97

Dr. Miguel Cardona

United States Secretary of Education

Read more about his many years of education leadership

Charlene Russell-Tucker

Charlene Russell-Tucker

Acting Commissioner
Connecticut Department of Education

Ned Lamont

Ned Lamont

Connecticut Governor

Dr. Jane Gates

Dr. Jane Gates

Interim CSCU President

Senator Doug McCrory

Doug McCrory


Rep. Bobby Sanchez

Bobby Sanchez

State Representative





8:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Educator Rising Student Competitions / Student Learning Panels and Kahoots

12:00 - 12:40 p.m.

Lunch and Learn and Awards and winning EdRising Moment Competition

Jahana Hayes
Jahana Hayes


12:40 p.m.

Panel Discussion #1

How can Future Educators [Rising Educators] meet the current and future needs of ALL students?

1:10 p.m.

Panel Discussion #2

Why is it imperative for Rising Educators and Current Practitioners to Lead Change?

1:40 - 2:15 p.m.

Keynote Address

Dr. Shuana Tucker


Dr. Shuana Tucker

Chief Talent Officer,
Connecticut Department of Education

Rochelle Brown
Rochelle Brown

2020/21 CT Teacher of the Year
Learn more about Rochelle


Meghan Hatch-Geary
Former Teacher of the Year 2020

Malik MCKinely Sr.
Director of Client Relations, ETS 

Sal Escobales
Teacher and Union President, NBFT

Wayne Stevens
Educators Rising Consultant, PDK 

Dr. Reggie Johnson
Chief of Strategic Parternships, PDK

Dr. Kimberly Kostelis
Dean of the School of Education and Professional Studies, CCSU

Michele O’Neill 
Educational Issues Specialist, CEA

Dr. Betty J. Sternberg
Teacher Leader Fellowship Program, CCSU
CT Commissioner of Education, Emerita

Colleen Moffett
Educator Rising Teacher Leader, New Britain

Dr. Jason Irizary
Interim Dean, Neag School of Education, UCONN

Deseriah Castillo
Former Rising Educator NBHS/College Freshman CCSU

Adam Gottner
Former Rising Educator NBHS/College Freshman Arizona State University

Dr. Dianna Wentzell
Director of Clinical Education, Associate Professor, University of St. Joseph

Dr. Anne Dichele
Dean, School of Education, Quinnipiac University

Conference Sponsors

AFT Connecticut - A Union of Professionals
ETS Praxis
CEA - Advocating for students and teachers
NBFT - Gets Things Done
Central Connecticut State University