AboutAcademicsAdmissionsAlumni and FriendsAthleticsCampus Life
Home >
_Content_ > Civil War > Connecticut Civil War Commemoration Commission
page tools :

 

Connecticut Civil War
Commemoration Commission

Created by Executive Order 44A
Governor Rell

 

Booker DeVaughn (co-chair)
President Emeritus
Three Rivers Community College

12 Country Lane
West Hartford, CT

(860) 521-0424
btdevaughn@msn.com

Matthew Warshauer, Ph.D. (co-chair)
Chairperson, Connecticut Civil War Commemoration Committee
Professor of History
Central Connecticut State University
Editor, Connecticut History
1615 Stanley St.

New Britain, CT 06050
(860) 832-2803
warshauerm@ccsu.edu

Barbara Alleyne
President, John E. Rogers African American Cultural Center
Board Member, Freedom Trail Commission
P.O. Box 1931
Hartford, CT 06144
860-232-2887
Jalleyne235@comcast.net

Mrs. Alleyne passed away on July 20, 2011.  The Commission expresses its condolences to the Alleyne family and recognizes the many contributions that she made to her community.

Link to Mrs. Alleyne's obituary

 

Marc Bassos
Fireside Patriots (Civil War Re-enactors)Cheney Homestead of Manchester Connecticut
Commission Civil War Reenactor Coordinator
90 Gregory Road
Bristol, CT 06010
(860) 582-8358
marc183@comcast.net

 

Glenn A. Cassis
Director
African American Affairs Commission
State Capitol
210 Capital Avenue
Room 509
Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 240-8555
glenn.cassis@cga.ct.gov

Amy Gagnon
Connecticut Humanities Council
37 Broad Street
Middletown, CT 06457
860-685-7580
amy@ctculture.org

Appointed  12/7/11

 

Mary Donahue
Executive Director, Manchester Historical Society
175 Pine Street
Manchester, CT 06040
(860) 647-9983
marydonohue@comcast.net

Catherine Fields
Executive Director
Litchfield Historical Society
P.O. Box 385
7 South Street
Litchfield, CT 06759
(860) 567-4501
cfields@litchfieldhistoricalsociety.org

Dr. Glenn Gordinier
Mystic Seaport - The Musuem of America and the Sea
75 Greenmanville Ave.
PO Box 6000
Mystic, CT 06355
(860) 572-5302 x5089

glenn.gordinier@mysticseaport.org


Lawrence Gill

Supplier Diversity Manager
TravelersOne Tower Square
Hartford, CT 06183
(860) 277-3220
lgill@travelers.com

 Jonathan A. Harris
17 Scarsdale Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
(cell) 860-985-5299
Formerly State Senator, Fifth District
governct@yahoo.com


Kathy Maher
Executive Director
Barnum Museum
820 Main Street
Bridgeport, CT 06604

(203) 331-1104
kmaher@barnum-museum.org

William Murphy
Director of Creative Services
CT1 Media: Fox Connecticut, The Hartford Courant
285 Broad Street
Hartford, CT 06115
wmurphy@tribune.com
860-723-2109

Frank Niederwerfer
14th Connecticut Regiment Volunteers
220 Niederwerfer Rd.
South Windsor, CT 06074
860-871-8369

Appointed 5/30/12

Elizabeth Norman
Publisher
Connecticut Explored
43 West Hill Dr.
West Hartford, CT 06119

(860) 233-5421
ejnorman@comcast.net

Ralph Philips
John E. Rogers African American Cultural Center
207 Mountain St.
Ellington, CT 06029
Ralph.Phillips@ct.gov

Appointed 2/1/12

Dana L. Schaffer
Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition

PO Box 208206
New Haven, CT 06520-8206
(203) 432-3339
dana.schaffer@yale.edu

Marc Shafer
62 Wyndwood Rd
West Hartford, 
CT 06107
(860) 202-2569
mshafer@snet.net

 

Diane Smith
President, Diane Smith Media
dianesmithmedia@yahoo.com

Shirley Wadja            
Project Historian
ECHO - Encyclopedia of CT History Online
Connecticut Humanities Council
(860) 685-7567
Shirley@ctculture.org


Resigned as of 7/11 due to no longer being with the CHC

Sally Whipple   
Director
Connecticut's Old State House
800 Main St. Hartford, CT 06103
860/522-6766 Ext. 17
sally.whipple@cga.ct.gov

Olivia S. White (Lincoln Commission)
Executive Director
The Amistad Center for Art and Culture
At The Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art
600 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06103-2990
(860) 838-4133
Olivia.White@wadsworthatheneum.org

Ken Wiggin
State Librarian
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Ave.
Hartford, CT 06106
860-757-6500
kwiggin@cslib.org

Walter Woodward, Ph.D.
Connecticut State Historian
Associate Professor of History
University of Connecticut
214 Wood Hall
Storrs, CT 06269
(860) 570-9089
walter.woodward@uconn.edu

© 2013 CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE UNIVERSITY  CONTACT US   SITE MAP      WEBMASTER      DIRECTIONS   CAMPUS ACCESSIBILITY
email page print page small type large type large type
powered by finalsite