Chapter 4: Shared Governance

UNIVERSITY ADMINISTRATION AND THE ROLE OF THE FACULTY IN SHARED GOVERNANCE

Quick Reference:

Senate Constitution	р. 4.4
Senate By-Laws	p. 4.8
Functions & Responsibilities for Standing Committees of the Faculty	p. 4.18
Curriculum Committee By-Laws	p. 4.28
Graduate Studies Committee By-Laws	p. 4.39
University Planning & Budget Committee Charter	p. 4.51
Promotion & Tenure Committee By-Laws	p. 4.53
Presidential Committees & Misc. Faculty Committees	р. 4.59

Overview: The CCSU System of Shared Governance-A brief description of layout and process

In order to promote the principle of shared governance of the University, the BoT has recognized the need for a Faculty Senate in the Preamble to the CSU-AAUP/BoT contract by stating:



The Contract on the Faculty Senate:

"Collegiality in academic governance on each campus of Connecticut State University can best be accomplished through Senates selected by representatives of the appropriate campus constituencies in accordance with each institution's constitution and tradition. Matters of concern to the Senate include: (a) curriculum policy and curricular structure, (b) requirements for degrees and granting of degrees, (c) policies for recruitment, admission and retention of students, (d) academic policies relating to students, and (e) other matters of campus community concern." [Preamble, p.1-2, CBA 2007-2011]

The powers and responsibilities of the Senate define an overarching set of themes within which standing committees of the faculty operate. In short, the Senate has two roles—a decision-making authority role with regard to activities in programs and classrooms, and an advisory role in matters of shared governance related to the University (such as planning & budget). Specifically, the Senate Constitution states:

2.2. The Faculty Senate has decision-making authority in such areas as curriculum matters, degree requirements, scholastic standards, academic freedom, admission policies, and student behavior.

2.3. The Faculty Senate serves in an advisory capacity in the appointment of administrative officers, budget and planning matters, university organizational structure, promotion and tenure policy, and in other matters affecting the educational quality and mission of the university.

The Senate delegates the decision-making and advisory duties to standing committees of the faculty, whose members are elected by the faculty according to specified protocols. All standing committees are required to report to the Senate annually.

The Senate is a deliberative body that follows rules of order to protect all of its members and to conduct business in an organized and equitable manner. Whereas some Senate models restrict membership to tenured, full-time instructional faculty, CCSU has adopted a model that is primarily based upon representations from departments in every academic school, plus representation from other AAUP units such as part-time faculty, counselors, librarians, and coaches, as well as non-AAUP administrative faculty, non-voting managerial staff, and students. The Constitution and By-Laws found on pages 4.4 - 4.14 specify the recognized areas where faculty shared governance is guaranteed, as well as point out the procedures by which the faculty conducts business.

The President also has standing committees to which faculty members are appointed, and there are faculty committees that do not report directly to the Senate or the President (e.g., The Human Studies Council is under the direction of the Dean of Graduate Studies). A general layout of the University's governance structure is shown in the following figure.