your years at Central Connecticut you will be exposed to life's many aspects
from within the classroom to the after hours scene. Parties are as much a part
of the university experience as are your studies. During this period you may
come in contact with alcohol and/or drugs. Like everything else, there are
things you must consider.
are not only dangerous, but may also find you in difficulty on campus or even
under arrest. The University has
strict prohibitions with regard to illegal drugs. These prohibitions are
listed in the student handbook, but in general may include dismissal from the
University and/or dismissal from residence halls.
Also, the police make no exceptions to the law simply because of your
status as a student. The
University Police, other police departments operating on campus or specialized
undercover units will enforce state and federal narcotics laws.
respect to alcohol use, you must consider the potential for injury (your
injury or another persons injury) if you are Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).
If a police officer stops you while you are operating a motor vehicle and the
officer believes that you are under the influence of intoxicating liquor
and/or drugs he or she will ask you to perform a series of field sobriety
tests. If you fail these tests, the officer will place you under arrest for
DWI and have your vehicle towed. You will then be transported to the Police
Department an officer will ask you to submit to a blood alcohol content (BAC)
test. The penalty for failure to submit to the BAC test is the suspension of
your driver's license for SIX months. If you do submit to the BAC test and the
results are between .07 and below .10 you will be charged with Driving While
Impaired. If the test results are .10 or above you will be charged with
Driving While Intoxicated. Your license will then be revoked for 24 hours, and
you will be issued a 35-day temporary license. At the end of this period (36th
day) your driver's license may be suspended for 90 days (longer if you have a
previous DWI arrest conviction.
can also lose your license in the State of Connecticut if a police officer
finds alcohol (opened or not) in the vehicle that you are operating and you
are under the age of 21. The officer may issue you a summons to appear at a
hearing at the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are found guilty your
driver's license may be suspended for a period of no more than 60 days.