Student Union Board of Governors Minutes

| Student Union Home |


MINUTES - Friday, September 19, 2003

Present:  C. Aluisi, C. Fenwick, T. Johnson, S. Kluge, B. Lewellyn, F. Mendoza, K. Newman, D. Orloske, C. Peppes,
K. Ryan, R. Schneeweiss, T. Stubbs, C. Taggart (Chair) 

Guests:  J. Hermelbracht

Ms. Taggart, Chairperson, called the first meeting of the 2003-2004 Student Union Board of Governors to order at 1:03 p.m.  She welcomed the new Board to what she hopes will be a productive and rewarding year for all.

      MOTION (F. Mendoza/K. Newman)                                                 SUBOG 2003-14 

    To ratify the following individuals as members of the SUBOG for 2003-2004:
        Carmen Aluisi, Alumni Rep.                   Christina Fenwick, Inter Residence Council Rep.
        Timmie Stubbs, Commuter Rep.             Connie Peppes, Graduate Student Rep.
        Tracey-Ann Johnson, SGA Rep.            Kelly Ryan, SC Student Employee Rep.
        Ben Lewellyn, SGA Rep. 

      Motion Passed:    4-Yes      0-No       0-Abstained


Ms. Taggart then led the Board through a partial reading of the SUBOG Constitution.  It was noted that Article 2 will require a constitutional name change in that the Constitution has the Department of the Student Center’s old name.

Ms. Taggart then appointed the Standing Committee chairs:

      Mr. Fernando Mendoza                         Budget Committee
      Ms. Connie Peppes                               House Committee
      Ms. Sarah Kluge                                   Student Services Committee  

The committees were then formed and met for 5 minutes or so to establish future meeting times and to get acquainted.

Mr. Mendoza then gave the Central Activities Network (CAN) report, which featured the highlights for: First Week – CAN Ya Dig It?, good news about Cinema Central’s strong attendance, the upcoming CAN Opener recruitment mixer, and the work the CAN did over the summer.

      MOTION:  (F. Mendoza/B. Lewellyn)                                                 SUBOG 2003-15

     To ratify the following Central Activities Network Board of Directors:
       Amanda Taitague                Network Central
       Loren Stidum                      Community Central
       Roberto Padua                    Central Perk
       Timmie Stubbs                    Vice President of Administration and Finance
       Valore Williams                   Cinema Central 
       Wendy Garosshen               Central Mainstage 

      Motion Passed:    11-Yes    0-No       0-Abstained


MOTION:  (T. Stubbs/K. Ryan)                                                          SUBOG 2003-16

    To change the name of the Legacy Lounge to the Central Connecticut State College Lounge.

       Motion Passed:    11-Yes    0-No       0-Abstained

Discussion explained that this was to include the CCSC portion of the University’s history in the Student Center.  Other lounges in the “drum” currently reflect other eras. 


      MOTION:  (D. Orloske/F. Mendoza)                                                   SUBOG 2003-17

To approve the following budget allocations:

      Leadership Weekends                           SLD903        $6,500.00
      Leadership Recognition                          SLD904          3,450.00
      Leadership Training Program                 SLD905          5,000.00
      Leadership Development Publications     SLD906          3,750.00
      Mosaic Center Committee                     SLD907        29,300.00 

      Motion Passed:    11-Yes    0-No       0-Abstained 

Mr. Schneeweiss explained these budgets are normally presented in the spring semester to the Board for approval.  Because he was on sabbatical leave, they fell through the cracks.

Ms. Taggart then shared a request from Ms. Michele Shelton for a display case for student organization awards.  This request was referred to the House Committee for consideration.

Ms. Taggart asked Board members to consider ways to publicize the Board.  This will be discussed at the next SUBOG meeting.  Mr. Stubbs, Ms. Ryan, and Ms. Fenwick will report.

Ms. Taggart announced that the Association of College Unions International (ACUI) Region 1 conference will take place October 24-26, 2003.  Board members interested in being part of our delegation should contact her.

      MOTION:  (D. Orloske/T. Stubbs)                                                       SUBOG 2003-18

     To sponsor a hole at the NACA Ross/Fahey Golf Tournament at a cost of $550.00. 

      Motion Passed:    11-Yes    0-No       0-Abstained

Discussion of Mr. Hermelbracht’s proposal included the benefits to the Student Center as well as honoring the former Director of the Student Center and Dean of Student Affairs, David A. Ross.

The names of various faculty members were discussed as possible individuals to hold faculty seats on the Board. 

Open floor included announcements concerning the Graduate Student Association (GSA) and the upcoming President’s Students Advisory Council (PSAC) meetings.

The next SUBOG meeting will be held on Friday, October 17, at 1:00 p.m., Student Center 1849 Room.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, 

Robert Schneeweiss
Executive Secretary SUBOG 2003-2004