Alcohol and Drugs
During your years at Central Connecticut you will be exposed to life's many aspects from within the classroom to the after hours scene. Parties are as much a part of the university experience as are your studies. During this period you may come in contact with alcohol and/or drugs. Like everything else, there are things you must consider.
Drugs are not only dangerous, but may also find you in difficulty on campus or even under arrest. The University has strict prohibitions with regard to illegal drugs. These prohibitions are listed in the student handbook, but in general may include dismissal from the University and/or dismissal from residence halls. Also, the police make no exceptions to the law simply because of your status as a student. The University Police, other police departments operating on campus or specialized undercover units will enforce state and federal narcotics laws.
With respect to alcohol use, you must consider the potential for injury (your injury or another persons injury) if you are Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). If a police officer stops you while you are operating a motor vehicle and the officer believes that you are under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or drugs he or she will ask you to perform a series of field sobriety tests. If you fail these tests, the officer will place you under arrest for DWI and have your vehicle towed. You will then be transported to the Police Department an officer will ask you to submit to a blood alcohol content (BAC) test. The penalty for failure to submit to the BAC test is the suspension of your driver's license for SIX months. If you do submit to the BAC test and the results are between .07 and below .10 you will be charged with Driving While Impaired. If the test results are .10 or above you will be charged with Driving While Intoxicated. Your license will then be revoked for 24 hours, and you will be issued a 35-day temporary license. At the end of this period (36th day) your driver's license may be suspended for 90 days (longer if you have a previous DWI arrest conviction.
You can also lose your license in the State of Connecticut if a police officer finds alcohol (opened or not) in the vehicle that you are operating and you are under the age of 21. The officer may issue you a summons to appear at a hearing at the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you are found guilty your driver's license may be suspended for a period of no more than 60 days.