AboutAcademicsAdmissionsAlumni and FriendsAthleticsCampus Life
Home >
_Content_ > Annual Report 2009-10 > Blue Devil Athletics, 2009-10
page tools :

Blue Devil Athletics, 2009-10

The 2009-10 athletics season saw the Blue Devils earn three more Northeast Conference titles--men's cross country, football and baseball. The NEC title for the baseball team was its fourth and the title for the football team saw them advance to a post-season game for the first time since turning Division I 24 years ago.  It was the first outright title for the team.

Football grabbed most of the headlines for the year, as head coach Jeff McInerney earned Coach of the Year honors after leading the Blue Devils to a 9-3 record, including a 7-1 mark in league action.  The nine wins matched a school record and the Blue Devils went undefeated at home for a second straight season.

Head men's cross country coach Eric Blake was named the NEC Coach of the Year after leading the Blue Devils to their first-ever NEC title.  Blake, a national caliber athlete himself, was in his first season as head coach of the men's program.

Off the field the Blue Devils made news with the hiring of Paul Schlickmann as their new Director of Athletics.  A longtime administrator in college athletics, Schlckmann came to CCSU after his most recent stop at Stony Brook University.

Individual Standouts
In the fall James Mallory won the NEC offensive player of the year award, and teammate Lawton Arnold was named the defensive rookie of the year.  Emily Cochrane was named the NEC rookie of the year in volleyball and Leah Blayney was the NEC player of the year in women's soccer.  In the winter Taylor Friedman was named the women's swimming outstanding performer at the NEC championship meet and Aaron Radden was the outstanding performer in the NEC indoor track meet.  In the spring Sean Allaire was named the NEC player of the year, Sara Budrick as the most improved player in softball and Betsy Vendel was named the NEC rookie of the year win women's lacrosse.

Mallory, Blayney and Kandra Kane earned the Gladstone and Rutz Awards following the seasons. Those awards are given annually at Central to the department’s top student-athletes.

email page print page small type large type large type
powered by finalsite