Home @ CCSU

African Studies

 

Program Overview

The African studies program promotes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of Africa through a range of programs, activities, and courses. Students are exposed to Africa, its environment, the people, and the various historical, social, political, cultural, and economic aspects of the continent. The program has established links with local, regional, and international educators and institutions worldwide. The program provides students with opportunities to study in institutions in Africa.


Coordinator

Dr. Evelyn Phillips

Department of Anthropology

Central Connecticut State University

1615 Stanley Street

New Britain, CT 06050

Phone: (860) 832-2617

E-mail: phillipse@ccsu.edu


Co-Coordinators of the Africana Center

Dr. Sheri Fafunwa-Ndibe

Department of Art

Central Connecticut State University

1615 Stanley Street

New Britain, CT 06050

Phone: (860) 832-2646

E-mail: fafunwas@ccsu.edu

Dr. Warren Perry

Department of Anthropology

Central Connecticut State University

1615 Stanley Street

New Britain, CT 06050

Phone: (860) 832-2613

E-mail: perryw@ccsu.edu


African Studies Committee

Evelyn Phillips, Ph.D., Anthropology – African Studies Coordinator (phillipse@ccsu.edu)

Oluwatoyin Ayeni, Center for International Education (ayeni_olu@ccsu.edu)

Richard Bachoo, Ph.D., Administration (bachoor@ccsu.edu)

Felton Best, Ph.D., Philosophy (bestf@ccsu.edu)

Walton Brown Foster, Ph.D., Political Science (brownw@ccsu.edu)

James Buxton, M.F.A., Art (buxtonj@ccsu.edu)

Sherinatu Fafunwa-Ndibe, Ph.D., Art – Africana Center Coordinator (fafunwas@ccsu.edu)

William Fothergill, Counseling & Wellness Center (fothergillw@ccsu.edu)

Gloria Emeagwali, Ph.D., History (emeagwali@ccsu.edu)

Jane Gardner, Recruitment & Admissions (gardnerja@ccsu.edu)

Patricia Gardner, Graduate Office (gardnerp@ccsu.edu)

Katherine Harris, History (harrisk@ccsu.edu)

Maxine Howell, Ed.D., Teacher Education (howellm@ccsu.edu)

Shelly Jones, Ph.D., Mathematics (jonessem@ccsu.edu)

Beverly Johnson, Ph.D., English (johnsonbev@ccsu.edu)

Peter Kyem, Ph.D., Geography (kyemp@ccsu.edu)

Seunghun Lee, Ph.D., English (leeseu@ccsu.edu)

Peter LeMaire, Ph.D., Physics (lemaire@ccsu.edu)

Ryan Nicoletti, Africana Center (st_nicolettir@mail.ccsu.edu)

Segun Odesina, Ph.D., Computer Electronics and Graphics Technology (odesina@ccsu.edu)

Warren Perry, Ph.D., Anthropology – Africana Center Coordinator (perryw@ccsu.edu)

Sheri Sogunro, Ph.D., Mathematics (sogunro_sha@ccsu.edu)

Janet Woodruff, Anthropology (woodruffj@ccsu.edu)


Minor in African Studies – 18 Credits

HIST 375, HIST 376, PS 421, PS 434, and 6 credits of electives as approved by the program coordinator.


Study Abroad Opportunities

Students in the African Studies program can apply to study abroad at any of the institutions listed below. For more information about studying abroad and for a full list of CCSU’s partner and affiliate universities worldwide, please visit the CIE's website.

Ghana

University of Education at Winneba (Winneba)

 



International & Area Studies  l  417 Social Sciences Hall or 303-2 Emma Hart Willard  l  1615 Stanley St.  l  New Britain CT-06050  l  IASmailbox@ccsu.edu

powered by finalsite