Literacy, Elementary, and Early Childhood Education

Literacy Education Programs


KLQ Resources


Book Awards and Book Lists

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award: "a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States."

The Pura Belpr√© Award: co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA) and the National Association to Promote Library Services to the Spanish Speaking (REFORMA), an ALA Affiliate.

Newbery Medal and Honor Books 1922 to Present: The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. On June 22, 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association meeting of the Children's Librarians' Section and suggested that it be named for the eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery.

Coretta Scott King Book Award: The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. All recipients 1970 to present

Outstanding International Books: USBBY Outstanding International Books (OIB) List
Beginning in 2006 USBBY has selected an honor list of international books for young people. Download Bookmarks or PowerPoints for a booklist for each year.

International Reading Association's Children's and Young Adult Book Awards: Children's and Young Adults' Book Awards is intended for newly published authors who show unusual promise in the children's and young adults' book field. Awards are given for fiction and nonfiction in each of three categories: primary, intermediate, and young adult. List goes back to 1975.

Jane Addams Children's Book: The Jane Addams Children's Book Awards are given annually to the children's books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence.


Book Trailers

Folklore, Fables, and Myths

  • Aesop's Fables 
    The Fables of Aesop, based on the texts of L'Estrange and Croxall. 
  • King Arthur Trivia
  • Fables and Folklore Trivia 
  • Myths and Legends for Kids
  • Creation Myths
  • Greek and Roman Myths 
  • Norse Myths Trivia 
  • Fable Trivia
  • Fables and Folklore Trivia 
  • Online Aesop's Fables at the International Children's Digital Library