Art Department

Current Show


Earth Water Fire Air

The Elements of Climate Change

March 9th - April 13th

Central Connecticut State University Art Gallery exhibits Earth, Fire, Water, Air: Elements of Climate Change.

Climate Change Poster

The Central Connecticut State University Art Gallery is proud to present Earth, Fire, Water, Air: Elements of Climate Change. This exhibit explores climate change in a juxtaposition and intermingling of art and science. Bill McKibben writes, "We can register what is happening with satellites and scientific instruments, but can we register it in our imaginations, the most sensitive of all our devices? ... Art, like religion, is one of the ways we digest what is happening to us, make the sense out of it that proceeds to action."

This exhibition analyzes climate change in its global and local dimensions to engage CCSU students, faculty and the Connecticut community. This includes Educators within the Art Department, the Teacher Education Department, and their students with connections to local K-12 public school students. 

The exhibition uses the four elements to provide a conceptual structure for the complex ecology of the changing climate. For each of the elements, we present artwork in a wide range of media by twenty artists to suggest and dramatize impacts of climate change, as well as the positive responses that communities and individuals can make. Topics include fossil fuel and alternate transportation systems (Earth), shifting climatic seasons due to warming and the fate of bees (Fire), rising sea levels and Connecticut coasts (Water), and air pollution and alternate energy sources (Air).

Please join us on Thursday, March 9 from 4-7pm for the opening reception, with artist talks 3:15-4pm. Light refreshments will be served. The show will run from March 9 – April 13. The gallery is open Monday through Friday 1-4pm. To arrange viewings outside these hours please call the gallery at 860.832.2633.

Located in the S.T. Chen Fine Arts Center of Maloney Hall, the CCSU Art Gallery has long shown the work of CCSU faculty, students, and alumni, as well as contemporary artists from around the world. All gallery events are free and open to the public, with free parking available in Welte Garage attached to the building.

For more information about the gallery, upcoming exhibitions, as well as the exhibition brochure for Earth, Fire, Water, Air: Elements of Climate Change and related climate change activities at CCSU this spring, please visit



For more information visit the links below:

10th Annual Global Environmental Sustainability Symposium 
Gallery Brochure with Facts and Summaries  
Gallery Check List